Lawd Have Mercy

Lawd have mercy on my soul
I play in newness with things of old
I stare at strangers on the bus
I sing to babies who make a fuss
Friends think me crazy
when I talk of light
I try to be not so weird with all my might
I have the right to muck things up
To grow to fall to change my luck
My memory serves me
this is true
And I serve love
in white and blue
My dress be sloppy my fingers bare
my hair be kinky my soul is rare
My face be bumpy my teeth colored
For whites only my smile covered
I sleep when I’m tired
I eat when I’m hungry
I laugh dance or cry when I get lonely
There’s more to tell
For now enough’s been told

Lord have mercy on my soul

Reply

