Defying Gravity

I feel like Spring is finally here! Yay! As of yesterday the weather actually is Spring like. It’s been an incredible 36 hours. I’ve been really going through a tough time the last few weeks. Discontent, a little disconnected. Frustrated with my math class. I understand it but it’s just very very slow and tedious right now. Rinse, Lather, Repeat. Every time I log on, it’s check messages, go to lesson, review lesson, do homework, take quiz. It’s just blah..Our Spring Break is in 3 weeks!!! and after that there’s only 3 weeks left of the semester. That’s madness. They really fucked up with our break this year and I’m a bit burnt out on school. There’s a real possibility that summer school will be canceled in all community colleges in San Diego. I found this out last Monday during the first day of my new 8 week Speech Communications class. I like the class and the teacher but it’s a long class. 3 hours and no break. Blah. I asked her about it this week and she said I could take a break if I need one (I do), but I don’t want to miss anything. We’ve done two speeches and have read one of the 3 books. I’m going to try to read the other 2 withing the next 7 days.

Piano is going okay. Lots of practice and we have our 2nd Evaluation on Monday. The First Evaluation I did really well. I got an A. We have a song we can do for extra credit (I love extra credit!) and I think if I had to take it tomorrow I’d get an A.

ASL 3 is good. I love my teacher and my classmates. We had our midterm on Tuesday and the room was like 80 degrees no joke. It’s a new green building (energy saving not color) and you can’t open the windows and maintenance is ridiculously slow to respond to complaints. My class is at 520. It had already been a full day. I couldn’t concentrate properly. During the part where she was signing how much things cost, I seriously started making up numbers. Calling it guessing would be a false statement. I was inventing (ha ha). I think I got a B and hi B or a low A. I got the highest on the 1st test (99) so I still have an A. We got assigned a story today that we have to videotape and then bring her the tape and watch it with her and she will give us a grade. This is 25 percent of our grade. She suggests we do it before Spring Break. The earlier the better. The people who wait don’t do as well.

I’m listening to Defying Gravity sung by the Glee Cast (Lea Michelle and Chris Colfer) and I really love the song. I really love Glee as a show. I’ve been watching it since January. I’m all caught up and put on the DVD’s often. I listen to my Glee playlist on my ipod or pandora everyday. No joke.

I don’t think I’ll go to summer school. My math class is a year long class and I’ll be doing that unless I drop..which I don’t think I will. I have to take this class for the degree. Any old way, with no summer school that means I’ll be here for another semester. This is good because I can spread it out and not get burned out and do other things. Like publish my first book of poetry (I’m 80 percent done!!) and make a movie and/or some shorts. I’m going to be a student and/or teacher for the rest of my life I think so there’s no rush. I don’t need a degree to do what I most want to do, which is write, entertain, learn things. Maybe because it’s Spring and it’s the end of the year, heading towards my new year (Imma May baby) I feel restless. I feel an incredible sense of newness, fresh start, powerful energy and I want to take advantage of it.
Dream the biggest dream and make it happen 🙂 In my Speech class we are reading a Journey to Excellence and it has exercises in it to help change our lives for the better. I start the exercises this week and plan to share them here on the blog at the end of May or June.

Anyway..just an update..

Here are the lyrics to Defying Gravity from Glee. The song is from the broadway play Wicked.

Rachel:
Something has changed within me,
Something is not the same.
I’m through with playing by the rules
Of someone else’s game.

Kurt:
Too late for second-guessing,
Too late to go back to sleep.
It’s time to trust my instincts,
Close my eyes and leap.

Both:
It’s time to try
Defying gravity
I think I’ll try
Defying gravity
Kiss me goodbye I’m
Defying Gravity
And you won’t bring me down…

Rachel:
I’m through accepting limits
‘Cause someone says they’re so.

Kurt:
Some things I cannot change,
But till I try, I’ll never know.

Rachel:
Too long I’ve been afraid of

Kurt:
Losing love I guess I’ve lost.

Both:
Well, if that’s love,
It comes at much too high a cost!

I’d sooner buy
Defying gravity.
Kiss me goodbye,
I’m defying gravity.
I think I’ll try
Defying Gravity
And you won’t bring me down.

I’d sooner buy
Defying gravity.
Kiss me goodbye,
I’m defying gravity.
I think I’ll try
Defying Gravity

And you won’t bring me down.
Bring me down!
Ahhahhoahh

2 thoughts on “Defying Gravity

Reply

