No Poem

No.
When I say No I am not trying to be difficult.
Don’t argue with me. This isn’t a discussion.
I am simply saying No. Not this time. Never. Maybe, never.
Stop. Right there. Right this moment.
I am approaching it with a foreign tongue.
It rarely crosses my lips. I hardly know it’s weight in my mouth.
My throat wants to swallow it whole. No.
I didn’t get to practice when I was two (a terrible time) or three
or four..
and when I needed to say: No. Stop. Stop. No.
and cry for help (at age 27) I couldn’t.
I could whimper, (a pitiful sound) and pray it would be over soon.
When I say No, it is not about you.
When I say No, it is not to hurt your feelings or because I think I am better than you.
It is a demonstration of self-
respect. It is a Self-ish thing.
When I say No, I have my reason(s)

Reply

