Nutcase

In between. I’m feeling in between. But good. I bought a bike the other day. I got it for $329. I used some financial aid money. I picked it up yesterday. I haven’t rode a bike in years. I haven’t had my own bike since I was like 16. It was a good idea. I feel more free. It took me almost an hour to get from downtown to my place. A few small hills. I stopped at the Park on my way home and took a longer way around because I wanted to avoid the main traffic area. I thought I would be sore today but only my but is a little. My but bones. I’m sure there’s a proper word for it but I haven’t studied anatomy enough to know it. All and all, I’m super psyched about this new thing in my life. I need to look at the manual and figure out the locks. I may buy another seat but maybe just a cushion. A new friend has a cushion he said he could give me. I got the bike, the rear and front lights and a u-lock with a cable lock, and an awesome Nutcase Helmet.

i love my brain

I may get a kickstand, a water bottle, a rack, a bell, a clip on/off front basket, saddlebags, and bell later on down the road. I think my next purchase will be bike gloves.

I’m psyched about school. My psychology class is brilliant. I will take it as an honor’s class. I just have to think of a topic for the research paper (8-10 pages for honors credit). I was thinking about doing something on how children of African descent learn best. I read an article last fall that says we learn best by doing it. Not the listening/lecture approach. We gotta move around. This style of learning is called Kinesthetic learning. But I think I may do it on creativity and how creativity or doing art helps people learn. I’m not sure.

Today has been pretty good so far. I’m dogsitting for a friend.

Raz and Me

The dog is named Raz, short for Erasmus, and he is a schnoodle (schnauzer poodle mix) and he’s friendly and awesome 😀 I like having a dog around. My housemate has a dog and her gf has two but they are rarely over here anymore. So..this week for me will be great.

I finally made it to the library to pick up some dvd’s that I placed on hold. I watched one of the them, Dogtown and Z-Boys this afternoon. I love the innovation and the spirt of the guys who bought skateboarding to world wide attention. I love the physicality of it. I’ve always wanted to learn to surf but this is like land surfing. I’ve been afraid of water because I don’t swim that well and I wear glasses. I gotta get prescription goggles maybe and go for it. Maybe next year. I don’t like that I just wrote maybe next year. It’s a body thing and a money thing. Right now I am trying to work with what I have for the most part. Borrow what I don’t. Accept the generosity of the friends and acquaintances I know and so on..

I am more relaxed than I have been. Still loads I want to do but I know that for me it’s not so much about that right now. Who cares if I do a lot if I’m not having a great time. I want to focus more on feeling good and feeling peace within as I go about doing stuff or not doing stuff.

ta ta for now

Gratitude
blue sky
Housemate and Gf visit
Raz
raw spinach
chocolate chewey cookies
my phone, FB, email
Le Tigre (rawr) I love the 1st album so much
walking
feeling nice and strong and capable
my awesome Nutcase helmet

Reply

