Music Soothes My Soul

Yesterday, I was able to sign out an Alto Saxophone for the remaining part of the semester. It’s a Unison from the S300 series. I don’t know much about that. It’s from my instructor’s personal collection. I was told to sit in with the band and when we were tuning I could barely make a note. I had to borrow a ligature, which is the piece that you fastens/holds the reed to the mouthpiece and another student let me use his neck strap. I feel insecure because so many people have been playing for so much longer than me and the Professor called me out saying we’d definitely have to meet. I was told how to properly place my mouth and at some point I started getting sound out that didn’t sound like an angry duck or..in actuality a badly played horn. *slight smile* I learned from the other sax players during the break and a bit after band. Later that night I pulled it out again and was figuring a little out for myself. My desire and ambition to play well is way ahead of my skill level but I have confidence that the two will meet up nicely one day, form a lasting union, and make plenty of good music.

I want to be the best musician I can be.

We have our first in class quiz in Basic Musicianship today. I already took the two online and did well. I am not really concerned about this one. I am concerned that I’m not getting rhythm. We are learning about meter. I am having a difficult time counting 8th and 16th notes and all the rests except the 1/2 rest and the whole rest. Well, that’s why I’m a student. We have at least one more lecture dedicated to this and I’ll just have to put in some more time or get some help from online sources. It’s hard for me to ask people because it’s hard for me to learn from impatient people or people who think I’m dumb and won’t get it.

Gotta get going. Still have a bit of yoga ahead and self massage.

Ta Ta for now ;D

2 thoughts on “Music Soothes My Soul

  1. I also want to be the best musician I can be, Unfortunately, I can only do the “Do-Re-Mi” song from the Sound of Music with the piano. I don’t even know what those keys are. And I believe that I sound like a horse when I sing. Hahhaha. 😛

    • 🙂 I recommend you learn how to play something. It really is awesome. I really love it. I’m glad to be doing it. I’m pretty psyched. I’m still working on getting my mouth right to play a decent sounding note consistently. I can tell I’ve improved a little bit. I definitely need to work on my breathing/lung capacity.

Reply

