Dreamin’ Again

I’m dreaming again. I should say, I’m remembering my dreams again. I used to dream/remember my dreams every night. Two or three or four dreams a night. Such a rich dream life. And the dream life informed my waking life. The last two nights my dreams have been very vivid and very helpful. This morning I feel like myself again. Which begs the question, when am I not myself?

I am at my Aunt and Uncles’s place. It’s about an hour and 45 minutes north east of San Diego. The house is big and spacious and clean and beautiful and comforting. I stayed here from Oct 2005 to March 2006 after I went through a horrible period in my life and their love and support helped me get better. I’ve visited at least twice a year since. I was just here in May, and before that Spring Break and before that about 3 weeks for Christmas/winter break. It’s become a place of renewal for me. And I am glad to say it’s worked it’s magic again. It’s not the house of course but the people in it.
I’ve been here Tuesday and I think I’m staying til Tuesday. I’d like to. My cousin and his girlfriend are driving down to San Diego for Comic Con and I want to get a ride back with them. They are leaving tomorrow for some sort of orientation thing and then coming back here and leaving again on Tuesday for 8 days. I may have to leave tomorrow because my cousin’s gf packs a lot. I have two backpacks and a duffelbag with me. I had lots of laundry that I needed to wash and I brought too many books 🙂 Art books, a couple of comic books that A.C. (my gf) wants me to read, music books, and my little roll up piano that I haven’t used at all. Maybe, I’ll pull that out later today. Anyway, their may not be room for me and my stuff. Fingers crossed.
I’ve been writing and thinking and thinking about my future academic career. I’m at 59 units with a 3.82 GPA. Registration is on Monday. My goal was to get the majority of my musical education at my current community college because I like the teachers and the Department Chair is testing out a new method of teaching students to be musically literate with computer technology that she’s designed. It’s also much cheaper to go to take these classes at community college than to take them at a University. I want to take the Music Theory series 1-4 and the Beginning Ear Training series 1-4 that you must take concurrently. So that’s 4 more semesters! Two more years. These classes are only offered once a year. 1 and 3 each Fall and 2 and 4 each Spring. But the super sucky things are: 1. There’s only 1 class for each course. So there’s only one time I can take it. And they are morning classes. 9-1235 with a 20 minute break. The only 2 classes in college that I haven’t earned an A in were classes that started at 9am. I usually take classes after noon. Classes started at 1230 are as early as I want to go. 2p is okay. Between 6 and 630 is perfect.

I don’t really want to take anything else!

But, I have 5 classes left to complete my General Education Requirements for Transfer. One English Class, an Algebra II/Geometry course, Psych Statistics, and Intro to Physiological Psych and an Astronomy Lab I had planned to do one per semester for 3 semesters and double up for one semester. I don’t know what I’ll do now.

The good news is that I’m almost absolutely positive that I want to major in Philosophy and go all the way with it. Maybe afterwards, I’ll teach at a small college or a community college. If I go to UCSD I may double major. The other major would be Music: Jazz and the African Diaspora.

I’m out for now.

Happy Saturday All! (or happy whatever day it is when you read this!) ha ha

2 thoughts on “Dreamin’ Again

  1. Thank you for the update! I’m still waiting for my approval letter for school eekkk takes forever! Logan and I are watching Rent not sure how appropriate it is for him but he’s dancing and mooing seems to like it ;). Love you dear!

    • Love you too!

      Rent! Logan’s too young to know what’s appropriate or not. What he doesn’t get, he doesn’t get..but what he gets out of it is the good music and the love, excitement, and joy that his mom has for it 😀

Reply

