Mental Wednesday

I woke up early this morning, right before the sunrise, in a complete mental funk. My body ached. I didn’t want to get out of bed. I went back to sleep. I woke again around 10a. I couldn’t get out of this mental loop about the future. Money, careers, school, romantic relationship, marriage and so on. I decided to write a bit and then I decided to practice drawing little cars from a book I checked out at the library that teaches simple drawings. That made me feel a little better. I got up and did my self massage but not much yoga. By this point it was noon. My mind was still yammering away.

I figured I need to get in touch with my heart again. My feelings. I’ve been thinking too much too much. I started thinking about Buddhism. I’m not a buddhist but I’ve learned a little about it over the years. I decided to look up “open heart” in google search. And then I looked up “heart sutra”. In my google search, I came across an awesome blog post that I want to share. It helped me a lot! Here it goes: 4 Simple Mantras To Help You Stay Positive and Happy

Number One and Number Four helped me most.
1. Keep Your head up and your heart Open
4. Let your name be your name.
In my case, Let Evan be Evan.

I have to accept who I am and where I am and how I am currently feeling. Nothing is permanent. This too shall pass. Thank goodness for these truths.

Reply

