And So It Begins

Today is the first day of Fall Semester. I woke up at 530 and got out of bed maybe 10 minutes later. Why, so early? Well, I started back with yoga a couple of weeks ago. I’ve noticed a significant amount of change in my body in just two weeks! I wanted to keep it up now that school has started. Yoga and self massage takes about an hour and then I was going to meet the gf for a walk to school. It take about 45min-1 hour to get to her place and the walk to school is about 30-40 minutes. When I was near her place I called and good thing I did. She wasn’t feeling well and couldn’t walk with me. I stayed on the bus for another 5 minutes and got dropped at the back of school. It was about 8am.

I immediately made my way to the music rooms. I wanted to check out a locker but couldn’t for the life of me remember the combination on the lock I’ve been using for over a year now!! Boo! Luckily, the guy who runs the desk for our department kept our combo’s on file from Spring Semester so yay! I picked my locker and I practiced piano for about half an hour. I’m really rusty. I then went to my first class. Math. Algebra II/Geometry with a little bit of Trig at the end of the semester. I was early but 75% of the class was already seated. I ended up sitting in the front row middle. The teacher is beautiful and nice and easy to understand. We have quizzes every class we meet and exams every third Friday. She’ll throw out one exam and 4 quizzes. She won’t collect the homework but if we don’t do the homework we most likely won’t do well on the quizzes. I looked over the homework due on Wed but I haven’t done it yet. Tomorrow I have a test for Music Theory.

A test and two quizzes this week! So yeh, summer’s over and being a full time student is what I am again. My schedule is MWF 930-11 for Math Tue/Thu 900-1235 for Music Theory 1 and Beginning Ear Training 1. We’ll have a 20 minute break around 1050. Thursday night is English 205. Our only book for the class is Kafka’s The Trial. That’s it for classes. I still have to finish up Psychology 101 and Multimedia 101 from last Fall. I missed the last two weeks of school and had to take incompletes. I am toying with the idea of taking Jazz Band Tue and Thu afternoons and Tap on Friday nights but I really don’t know. The schedule is pretty good as is.

My concern is I’m not used to taking morning classes. My mornings are usually for yoga, self massage, writing, eating, moving at my own pace. I like my classes in the afternoon and evening. I have 60 units complete and a 3.82 overall GPA. The 2 classes (the only classes) that I didn’t get an A in were 9am classes. I think I’ll be okay. I’ll do my best. The goals this week are to show up to my classes, do my hw, give myself time to adjust to a new schedule, and look for an apartment or a room to rent. I get money this Friday so I’ll be able to move forward with my life and have a place of my own again. I’m looking forward to it!

Cheers All!

4 thoughts on “And So It Begins

Reply

