Lessons Learned

Lesson #1 Just because you have three days off from school, it doesn’t mean you have three days off from doing homework.

I didn’t have much fun this Labor Day Weekend. I spent Saturday and Sunday in bed for the most part. I was in bed by 8p on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. I turned the lights out but I didn’t sleep until later. Monday, I went over to my girlfriend’s house for breakfast. When I got home in the early afternoon I was tired, so I took a nap. When I woke up I was fuzzy brained and overwhelmed at the prospect of doing my Music Theory homework. We’re studying rhythm, simple and compound meter, and dictation. The majority of it is new to me and it’s sooo much homework. So, I didn’t do it. I woke up the next morning early but still not feeling well. I knew I was going to miss Music Theory at 9 but I was hoping to make it to Ear Training at 1110. The Transit System here in San Diego, changed their bus schedules and trolley system, effective 9-2-12. This was on a Sunday, the holiday was Monday and because it was a holiday it ran on Sunday schedule. On Tuesday when I went to catch the bus to make it to Ear Training, I missed one of the buses by 6 minutes, which made me fall behind. I didn’t make it to class because I would’ve been 10 minutes late and being late is not okay.

So no school on Tuesday for me. I decided to go shopping for a light jacket and some new underwear. After that, I found a place to do my math warm up problems for our test Wednesday morning. I started on the first problem and I had absolutely no idea how to do it. It was from the first day of class and my brain was out of math mode because I haven’t done any math in 4 days. Math is one of those things that I think you have to do a little bit everyday. Anyway, I called a friend, who didn’t answer! and then I looked at it again and tried to recall how I did it. Our Professor had just sent us an email with the answer key so I was able to check to see if I got it right. After that the warm up was easy peasy:)

Tuesday is date night for me and my girlfriend. It’s different every week. Last night was chill. We ended the night with a little little bit of rum and a lot of coke zero. I wasn’t trying to get plastered I was just trying to be pain free. The rum was about a capful. The smallest amount I’ve every drank but it was the perfect amount for me. We then watched two episodes of Buffy The Vampire Slayer from Season 2. We are going to watch every single episode of the show together. We’ve each already seen them before but we thought it would be cool to watch them consecutively with one another. I ended up spending the night. I woke up this morning, did my self massage, and some sun salutations (yoga) and went to school to take my math test. I only took a folder with some paper, two pencils, my phone and my earphones. I got on the bus and 4 minutes later I was at school. This beats the hour plus journey I make everyday when I leave from my friend’s house where I am staying right now. I took the test and did well but I got hung up on one problem for like 20 minutes! I made it my last problem but I did it over and over and over again. Which brings me to the next lesson I learned.

Lesson #2 One cannot reduce in the middle of doing Matrices aka Gaussian Elimination (At least I can’t!) It throws everything off. Wait to the end to simplify.

But happiness! I think I got an A on our first Exam! Four more to go and she throws out the lowest. We have a gazillion more quizzes though because she quizzes us every day of class.

After the test, I came back to my girlfriend’s house to find that she had bought me breakfast 🙂 which consisted of a whole wheat everything bagel with cream cheese, a banana, and my current favorite 100% juice blend of pineapple, peach, and mango. We then watched a movie called Catch Me If You Can because I had checked it out from the library and it was due later. It was pretty entertaining. After that we didn’t want to study. I have about 3 hours of Music hw and about two hours of reading for my English class tomorrow night. I am going to save the reading til the afternoon because I have 6 hours after Music gets out before English starts and I’ll be okay as long as I am rested and nothing too out of the ordinary occurs. My girlfriend has a 100 question multiple choice exam in Anatomy Physiology tomorrow afternoon on the first two chapters in her text book. I’m usually very disciplined and all about the homework but I was not feeling it this afternoon. And neither was she.

Lesson #3 If you are going to skip doing your homework and studying for exams, do engage in a bit of Afternoon Delight with a beautiful, funny, well skilled lover.

We had a really fantastic time this afternoon. It is 930p in the evening. I’ve eaten dinner, gone for a walk, checked my voicemail, looked over what I need to do for tonight and tomorrow. I’ve read a little music theory and I am going to do at least and hour more of homework and then call it a night.

Tomorrow is a new day. A new day with a two tests, lots of reading, and more homework and still trying to shake whatever illness it is I have contracted. It’s either a sinus infection, tonsillitis, or an ear infection. Yay! (sarcasm) The thrilling life of a not so healthy full time student o-O

Peace All.

One thought on “Lessons Learned

Reply

