The World We Wish To Create

I woke up the news of the school shooting in Connecticut. Like many around our country/the world, I feel saddened in my heart and sick to my stomach. I do not feel afraid for our future. I feel hopeful. I feel hopeful because one of my cousin’s, who is a young mother, wrote on her FB status her:

“Y lil kids tho smh they so helpless nd defenseless .. I hope GOD has mercy on whoever soul that did this to those innocent lives that were taken..”

conneticut kids

I feel the same way. My heart goes out to all the families affected by this tragedy. All of us, who in truth are one big family.

I wanted to also share a short blog post I read this morning. A Parent’s Reflection

My favorite part of the blog post:
“I want to light the Hannukah candles tonight and pray for a miracle. The miracle I’m praying for doesn’t come from God. It comes from a vision of the world you want to live in, and it comes from the belief in yourself and your children that you can make that world.”-A Mom

I know as a country, as a world, we have it in us to create a world where we value one another and life itself. We’ll never know why this guy did what he did. Why he felt a need to take it out on innocent children. But like all tragedy and senseless violence, it brings people together. It makes us take stock of what is really important. How we treat one another matters. I don’t believe this is a time for fear. As always, it is time for love. For more love. Our lives and our children’s lives and their children and their children’s children and so on, depend upon it.

Now is a time to ask, what kind of world do we wish to create? What kind of world to we wish to live in?

For me, it’s about positive and healthy change in my life for it’s own sake, but also so that I am able to contribute more to those around me; my community, my friends, my family. That’s where I am. That’s my resolution. My commitment. My promise.

Peace All

Reply

