Family Drama Pt. 3

The following post is a continuation from
Family Drama Pt 1 and Family Drama Pt. 2

We’ve talked maybe 4 or 5 times since then. She now says she doesn’t know if she can trust that I won’t just shut down if she needs to talk about something. If I am going to be a part of q’s life than I’m going have to deal with some unpleasantness. I told her I don’t like drama and neither does my family. She says if I knew what my brother was like and what he’s been doing and how he treats her and her family then I would understand why she responded the way she did. I told her I didn’t want to hear any of that because it’s not my business. A few days after I got back home we talked and I told her I’d hear her out because she kept bringing it up and I told her when we talk about it (in May supposedly) I want her to be honest about her part in it too. Because I don’t think her or my brother are innocent. They’ve both been really cruel to each other. I don’t think either one is right over the other. My concern is about q. I feel he needs both his mom and his dad.

Okay. So yesterday morning she calls me. She says she’s been getting harassed by my brother and what did I say to him because he’s bringing things up about my visit. I told her that I told him his son was fine. He sleeps with the blanket he got him. That he needs him and that I hope he can get things situated in his life so that he could get half custody back. The thing is, he didn’t know that she had full custody and he’s totally flipping out. I didn’t know until the day before I left from the visit and I didn’t know that my brother didn’t know. She says she’s getting a lot of cruel texts from him and she’s stressed out and it’s affecting how she functions. She asked me not to share what goes on in her house with anyone in my family because it could be used against her. That’s exactly what my brother, mom, and dad used to say to me about her. I told her that I am 35 years old and I can share my experiences with whoever I want.

She wanted to know if she asked me not to say something would I not say something. I said she should ask me before she tells me anything and I can decide if I feel comfortable or not keeping a secret. I told her that if I promise not to say something I won’t. I told her my Aunt is one of my bestfriends and I talk to her about what’s going on in my life. And then she was saying she wish she could talk to my Aunt to tell her not to say anything that might get back to my brother. And I told her that wasn’t going to happen. I told Mg that she was being controlling and she, my brother and my mom are the only people in my life that have told me not to talk to so and so or not to tell so and so this because it could be used as a weapon against them.

She then told me she didn’t feel comfortable about me coming up there in May because she didn’t know what the repercussions from my visit would be like. She’s dealing with my brother’s wrath because I stayed with her and I told her it’s because he found out about the custody thing which I thought he knew about! Plus, we both knew he wouldn’t like that I was staying with her and visiting but we, her and I, both decided that it was importand that I got to my nephew. And my brother’s phone been off and he doesn’t have a place of his own. i hadn’t seen my nephew in 4 years and it was time to move forward. I was prepared to deal with my brother. He hasn’t called me. He texted me thanks for the pictures and this past weekend he wished me Happy Easter.

Reply

