Heaven’s Gates: God asks you, “Why should I let you in?”

A friend just posted this question: If you were at heaven’s gates, and God asked you, “why should I let you in?”, what would you say?

My response: (confused) Hey, uh, who are you? This is my place. Yeh, I mean I used to live here. I must have lost my keys somewhere. Oh, YOU’RE God. Whoa. It’s good to meet you for real, I mean you already know me and all, but seriously uh. I mean, come on. Let me in. What I gotta do? Get down on my knees and beg?
God: You need a witness.
Me : Uh.. well..

(God moves aside with a sly grin and a welcoming gesture)

Me: Alright, you got me. Ha ha, I see. You got jokes. (As I walk through the gates) Ok, I got one. Stop me if you’ve heard this one before. OK, there’s this father, this son, and this ghost. The father says..

Some of my friends answered:

“I gave more than I took.”
“You shouldn’t, I’m just here to pick up Abby and my dogs.”
“I tried really hard to put others before myself.”
“I am a faithful steward of your creation.”
“cuz i’m ready to be here. let’s get this pah-ty stah-ted”
********
I am sincerely interested in what you would say.
Leave a response in the comments (located at the top right of the post), please.

6 thoughts on “Heaven’s Gates: God asks you, “Why should I let you in?”

  1. I would say that I can enter the gates of heaven because of what your Son Jesus has done for me and because of Your promise saying that “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16.
    It’s because I have acknowledge the fact that I am a sinner and no matter how much good I try to do, I can never wipe away all my sins without the forgiveness of Christ from His blood that was shed for me, I am still a sinner. But because of the atonement that Jesus made for us, I am now righteous in your sight, your adopted son and have access to heaven because of what Jesus did, not because of what I did. It’s because of Your grace alone, not my deeds.

    And after that I would just walk in to His gates with a BIG WIDE smile because by that time, the gates will have opened and God will open His arms wide heheheh:D

  2. I would say because I tried to be a good person and work to love people well. I would also say it’s only by grace that I should be allowed entry.

Reply

