Life: Relevant Content

Although, today I deleted my GoFundMe page, the content of the page is still applicable. I’ll make another blog post soon to sort of do a recap of the last couple of weeks. Know that I am okay. I hope all my readers are well also.

Nice_Guy_140419 small copy

About me: Hi All. My name is Evan. I recently graduated with Honors from my local community college. I earned an Associate of Arts degree in Liberal Studies with an emphasis in Child Development. Graduating from college is one of the accomplishments that I am most proud of. I am asking for help at this time so that I am able to continue pursuing my educational goals.

I have enrolled in the last 2 classes I need to earn my American Sign Language Studies degree. My tuition is payed for through a grant for low income students. My books and supplies for fall term have now been covered, thanks to the generousity of those who’ve donated recently.

I plan to apply to Universities this fall. I’ve been invited to join Phi Thetta Kappa Honors Society, which is an International Honors Society for community college students. There is a one-time membership fee of $85. I’ll be eligible for many scholarships after I join. Donations will go towards paying for the membership and copies of school transcripts I will need when I apply for universities and scholarships. My current GPA is a 3.80 with 89 units completed. Truthfully, I love learning and I think down the road I’d like to be a Professor.

Overcoming obstacles/hardships: I am the first person in my immediate family to graduate from college. It’s been a long road. Currently I am homeless. I have floor space at one of my friend’s places and a couch to sleep on at another friend’s place on a temporary basis.

Work: I am currently working customer service at a bookstore. I love my job and my co-workers. I am not eligible for any financial aid at this time from my school because I have a degree now. My plan is to seek additional employment. In fall, I have an opportunity to work in a daycare. I’ll need an infant/child/adult CPR certification. Donations will go towards obtaining this certification.

Volunteer/Community Service: I live by the principle of “pay it forward”. Besides school and work, I volunteer in my community. I’ve spoken on panels at UCLA, UCSD, San Diego State, and San Diego Mesa College, talking about lgbt issues with an emphasis on Transgender issues. I volunteer with a local community group that provides resources and support for LGBT families. The families consist of LGBT- headed households raising children, and non-LGBT-headed households raising LGBT children. I usually do arts and crafts with kids ages 5-13.

***
Low-income health programs have enabled me to get some of the medical care I need. The Calfresh program helps me purchase food. With the help of the Disability Support Program and Services, great Professors, counselors, and classmates, my time in school these past few years have been good overall. If not for the love, support, encouragement, and well wishes from friends and family I wouldn’t have made it this far.

Thank you for your time reading all this!

If you can, please donate and/or share this blog.

Reply

