Deleted My GoFundMe Page

I am thankful for the 17 donations made by friends, families, and people I have never met, over the past 2 months through my GoFundMe page. THANK YOU to those who donated and to those who shared my page. I have yet to reach my goal but have taken the page down because I cannot in good conscience be linked to the site or the company any longer.

Some of you may already know this, but for those who don’t know, there was a GoFundMe campaign launched last week in support of Darren Wilson, the police officer who murdered Michael Brown on August 9th. It raised over $200,000 in four days. Some of the comments on the page were/are sickening. I feel the page is a violation of the terms of conditions we agree to when we make a page. The website’s acceptable use policy states that it may not be used for activities relating to the sale of “items that promote hate, violence, racial intolerance or the financial exploitation of a crime”. GoFundMe deleted all comments and released a statement, “The content of the campaign itself is not in violation of GoFundMe’s terms of service.”

The administrators of the original page have now partnered with a non-profit organization named Shield of Hope, and they have created a new page which has raised over $137,000 in 3 days. No comments are allowed. GoFundMe, a San Diego based company, has helped many people and organizations since it began in 2008. I’m sure it will continue to help many people but I cannot knowingly support the company in any way. I am aware that technically, Darren Wilson, has not been charged with a crime, he may never be charged in actuality, but I do feel that benefiting in any way from killing someone is wrong and I won’t support it.

Reply

